9. August 2008

TSP-Norway project leader Hanne H. Christiansen elected Vice President for the International Permafrost Association (IPA)

Contact person for additional information: Hanne H. Christiansen

Text and photos by Ole Humlum


Hanne H. Christiansen adressing the delegates at the closing ceremony of the Ninth International Permafrost Conference in Fairbanks, Alaska, 3 July 2008.


At the Ninth International Permafrost Conference (NICOP) in Fairbanks, Alaska (June 29– July 3, 2008), TSP-Norway project leader Hanne H. Christiansen was elected Vice President for the International Permafrost Association (IPA). The new Executive Commitee for IPA will function until the next International Permafrost Conference, which will be held 2012 in Tyumen, Russia.

As new president for IPA was elected Dr. Hans-W. Hubberten from the Alfred Wegener Institute in Potsdam, Germany. As second Vice President was elected Professor, Dr. Antony Lewkowicz, University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada.

Both Hans-W. Hubberten and Antony Lewkowicz has good connections to the permafrost research environment at Norwegian universities (UNIS and the Institute of Geosciences, University of Oslo).  


TSP-Norway presentations at NICOP

Several members of TSP-Norway was present at the Ninth International Permafrost Conference in Fairbanks, and gave presentations. Several of these are now published in:  Eds. Douglas L. Kane and Kenneth M. Hinkel: Proceedings of the Ninth International Conference on Permafrost, University of Alaska Fairbanks , June 29– July 3, 2008.

The list below of TSP-Norway published NICOP contributions is organised according to page number, with the names of TSP-Norway members highlighted:

  • H.H. Christiansen and O. Humlum. Interannual Variations in Active Layer Thickness in Svalbard , 257-262.

  • R. Delaloye, E. Perruchoud, M. Avian, V. Kaufmann, X. Bodin, H. Hausmann, A. Ikeda, A. Kääb, A. Kellerer-Pirklbauer, K. Krainer, C. Lambiel, D. Mihajlovic, B. Staub, I. Roer, and E. Thibert. Recent Interannual Variations of Rock Glacier Creep in the European Alps , 343-348.

  • B. Etzelmüller, T.V. Schuler, H. Farbrot, and Á. Guðmundsson. Permafrost in Iceland : Thermal State and Climate Change Impact, 421-426.

  • H. Farbrot, K. Isaksen, and B. Etzelmüller. Present and Past Distribution of Mountain Permafrost in the Gaissane Mountains , Northern Norway , 427-432.

  • C. Harris and K. Isaksen. Recent Warming of European Permafrost: Evidence from Borehole Monitoring (Plenary Paper), 655-662.

  • O. Humlum. Alpine and Polar Periglacial Processes: The Current State of Knowledge (Plenary Paper), 753-761.

  • A. Instanes and O. Anisimov. Climate Change and Arctic Infrastructure, 779-784.

  • B. Instanes and A. Instanes. Foundation Design Using a Heat Pump Cooling System, 785-788.

  • K. Isaksen, H. Farbrot, L.H. Blikra, B. Johansen, J.L. Sollid, and T. Eiken. Five-Year Ground Surface Temperature Measurements in Finnmark, Northern Norway , 789-794.

  • H. Juliussen, O. Humlum, L. Kristensen, and H.H. Christiansen. Thermal Processes in the Active Layer of the Larsbreen Rock Glaciers, Central Spitsbergen , Svalbard , 877-882.

  • L. Kristensen, H.H. Christiansen, and F. Caline. Temperatures in Coastal Permafrost in the Svea Area, Svalbard , 1005-1010.

  • N. Matsuoka and H.H. Christiansen. Ice Wedge Polygon Dynamics in Svalbard : High-Resolution Monitoring by Multiple Techniques, 1149-1154.

  • R.S. Ødegård, K. Isaksen, T. Eiken, and J.L. Sollid. MAGST in Mountain Permafrost, Dovrefjell, Southern Norway , 2001–2006, 1311-1316.

  • M.A. Parsons, S.L. Smith, V.E. Romanovsky, N.I. Shiklomanov, H.H. Christiansen, P.P. Overduin, T. Zhang, M.R. Balks, and J. Brown. Managing Permafrost Data: Past Approaches and Future Directions, 1369-1374.

  • I. Roer, W. Haeberli, M. Avian, V. Kaufmann, R. Delaloye, C. Lambiel, and A. Kääb. Observations and Considerations on Destabilizing Active Rock Glaciers in the European Alps , 1505-1510.

  • T. Watanabe, N. Matsuoka, H.H. Christiansen, and A. Ikeda. Sounding Ice and Soil Wedge Structures with Ground-Penetrating Radar, 1933-1938.